Social

Retweet another Tweet

What is a Retweet? A Tweet that you share publicly with your followers is known as a Retweet. This is a great way to pass along news and interesting discoveries on Twitter. You can add your own comments before Retweeting—making it a Quote Tweet. When using Twitter's Retweet icon, your Retweet or Quote Tweet will reference the Tweet you are
Read more

Push notifications for conversations

Conversations on Twitter are replies and mentions you have with others in your own or their Tweets. If you'd like to receive push notifications for conversations on your mobile device, make sure your settings are on. From the Twitter for iOS app From the Me tab, tap
Read more

Reply to a Tweet

A reply is a response to another person’s Tweet. You can reply by clicking or tapping the reply icon from a Tweet. When two people are replying to one another, only relevant people, such as those who follow the person who replied and the person in the conversation, will see the reply in their timeline. If someone sends you a reply and you are not following them, the reply will not appear in your Home timeline.
Read more

How to mention on Twitter

A mention is a Tweet that contains another person's @username anywhere in the body of the Tweet. If you include multiple @usernames in your Tweet, all of those people will see your Tweet in their Notifications tab. Visiting another account’s profile page on Twitter will not display Tweets that mention them. How to post a mention: Type your message
Read more

The Twitter glossary

This is the Twitter glossary. Here you will find the vocabulary and terminology used to talk about every features and aspects of Twitter.  @ The @ sign is used to call out usernames in Tweets: "Hello @twitter!" People will use your @username to mention you in Tweets, send you a message or link to your profile. @username A
Read more

Archive a conversation on Facebook

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox. To archive a conversation: Go to Facebook's messenger. Open the conversation you want to
Read more

Control your permissions when signing up for an app or game

When you sign up for an app or game using Facebook, you can give it permission to share your activity or personal information. To control your app or game permissions when signing up: After agreeing to sign up for an app or game using Facebook, click
Read more

Turn off notification sounds

When notification sounds are turned on, you'll hear an alert through your computer's speakers whenever a notification arrives. You can turn off all the sounds on Facebook. To turn off notification sounds: Click  in the
Read more

Turn notifications on or off for people or Pages that you follow

To turn on notifications for a friend, you can add them to your Close Friends list. To adjust notifications for a Page: Go to the Page. Click Following. Click
Read more

Create a list to organize your friends

You can use lists to organize your friends on Facebook. Using a list, you can filter the stories you see in your News Feed or post an update for specific people, like your coworkers or friends who live near you. To create a new list: Click Friend Lists under Explore on the left side of your News Feed.
Read more